This is the "Spring 2014" page of the "New Items at Dare Campus Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Items at Dare Campus Library   Tags: coa, college of the albemarle, dare, new books, new items  

Students, faculty and staff can check out these exciting new books and videos at the Dare Campus Library. Elizabeth City and Chowan students can ask for items to be sent to their campuses.
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.albemarle.edu/darenewitems Print Guide RSS Updates

Spring 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference

Cover Art
The North Carolina Gazetteer: A Dictionary of Tar Heel Places and Their History - William S. Powell
Call Number: Reference F252.P69 2010
ISBN: 9780807833995
Publication Date: 2010
An updated version of the 1969 reference with over 20,000 entries, including Laurel Point in western Dare County, Jean Guite Creek also known as Martins Point Creek, and Cow Island, a part of Bodie Island.

Cover Art
North Carolina Atlas & Gazetteer: detailed topographic maps: back roads, recreation sites, GPS grids - DeLorme
Call Number: Reference G1300.D36 2012
ISBN: 9780899332772
Publication Date: 2012
74 quadrangle maps of the state with boat ramps, campgrounds, locations of family outings, trout streams, and hunting locations designated-all cross-referenced and detailed.

Cover Art
Oxford Chinese Dictionary: English-Chinese/Chinese-English - Julie Kleeman
Call Number: Reference PL1455.O88 2010
ISBN: 9780199207619
Publication Date: 2010
670.000 words, phrases, translations with cultural notes and resources for travel or life abroad.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry - John Daintith
Call Number: Reference QD5.F33 2005
ISBN: 0816056498
Publication Date: 2005
Fourth edition includes web sites, the periodic table, the Greek alphabet, an guide to use, and a pronunciation key for the over 3,000 headwords.

 

The Sciences

Cover Art
The Periodic Table: A Very Short Introduction - Eric R. Scerri
Call Number: QD467.S34 2011
ISBN: 9780199582495
Publication Date: 2011
This series of small books offers concise and informative reading. Offered in this book is a quick overview of the modern periodic table, the key ideas about early atomic theory and quantum mechanics.

Cover Art
Stem Cells: A Very Short Introduction - Jonathan Slack
Call Number: QH588.S83.S53 2012
ISBN: 9780199603381
Publication Date: 2012
"In this book the author introduces us to stem cells, explaining what they are, what scientists do with them, why they are important, what stem therapies are available and how they might be used in the future." Publisher's Note

Cover Art
Plants: A Very Short Introduction - Timothy Walker
Call Number: QK45.2.W25 2012
ISBN: 9780199584062
Publication Date: 2012
Plant evolution, the nature of plants, the immense variety and the need for conservation are examined in this concise and informative small book.

Cover Art
Functional Biology of Plants - Martin J. Hodson
Call Number: QK711.2.H63 2012
ISBN: 9780470699409
Publication Date: 2012
Plentifully illustrated, the book colorfully provides the reader with the history, function, interactions, adaptations, and future direction of plants and plant research.

Cover Art
Adrenaline - Brian B. Hoffman
Call Number: QP572.A27H64 2013
ISBN: 9780674050884
Publication Date: 2013
This book has been described as a biography of adrenaline-describing the many developments and discoveries of the uses and effects of this fascinating molecule.

 

North Carolina History

Cover Art
Native Americans in Early North Carolina: A Documentary History - Dennis L. Isenbarger
Call Number: E78.N38I84 2013
ISBN: 9780865264649
Publication Date: 2013
The original Tar Heels can be divided into three groups: those living in the Albemarle region of coastal North Carolina, those in the Piedmont and Cape Fear River Valley, and those residing in the mountains. Although each group was unique, they shared a common culture. This volume of primary source material documents these Native Americans from the late sixteenth century to the early nineteenth century.

Cover Art
The North Carolina Historical Review - The North Carolina Historical Commission
Call Number: F251.N892 2014 v.91 no.1
Publication Date: 2014
Published quarterly, this journal's essays explore the history of North Carolina as well as regional and southern history. It includes book reviews of recently published books about the state. A website makes available for a fee back issues, copies of articles, maps, teaching guides, CD's and other items.
This issues contents: Washed Down in Blood: Murder on the Schooner Harry A. Berwind; David Clark's "Campaign of Enlightment": Child Labor and the Farmers' States Rights League, 1911-1940; "All Must Have a Say": Internal Improvements and Andrew Jackson's Political Rise in North Carolina in 1824

 

Beer in North Carolilna

Cover Art
North Carolina Craft Beer & Breweries - Erik Lars Myers
Call Number: TP577.M94 2012
ISBN: 9780895875716
Publication Date: 2012
Divided into the sections of the state from mountains to coast, this guidebook profiles 45 breweries along with a history of brewing beer in North Carolina. Appendices include: Breweries Opening in North Carolina, North Carolina Meaderies and Cideries, Contract Brewers in North Carolina and Bottle Shops in North Carolina.

 

Outer Banks Collection

Cover Art
The Old Sea Captain and The Drummer: Salty Dialogue from the Land of Wind and Water Written Years Ago for the Coastland Times - Victor Meekins
Call Number: Outer Banks Collection PS2378.M45O4x 1950
Publication Date: 1950
Victor Meekins, father of Roger P. and Francis W. Meekins, wrote these articles of the land and people on the Outer Banks. Originally written for the Dare County Times. (Donated book)

Cover Art
On This Day In Outer Banks History - Sarah Downing
Call Number: F262.O96D689 2014
ISBN: 9781626192829
Publication Date: 2014
Assistant curator of the Outer Banks History Center, this is the fourth book the author has written about the history and stories of the Outer Banks. Each of the 365 days has a story or event from the lore of the area.

 

Spanish Literature

Cover Art
The Cambridge Companion to Gabriel Garcia Marquez - Philip Swanson
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73Z6155 2010
ISBN: 9780521867498
Publication Date: 2010
"Gabriel García Márquez is Latin America's most internationally famous and successful author, and a winner of the Nobel Prize. His oeuvre of great modern novels includes One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera. His name has become closely associated with Magical Realism, a phenomenon that has been immensely influential in world literature. This Companion includes new and probing readings of all of García Márquez's works, by leading international specialists. His life in Colombia, the context of Latin American history and culture, key themes in his works and their critical reception are explored in detail. Written for students and readers of García Márquez, the Companion is accessible for non-Spanish speakers and features a chronology and a guide to further reading. This insightful and lively book will provide an invaluable framework for the further study and enjoyment of this major figure in world literature"-- Publisher review

 

DVDs

Macbeth (Television program: 2010) - William Shakespeare
Call Number: DVD PR2823.A23M323 2010
ISBN: 9781608833306
Publication Date: 2010
"Adaptation of the stage production which relocates the action to a nameless 20th-century underground facility, offering a parable of the quest for power in the modern world."

Fractals: Hunting the Hidden Dimension - Michael Schwarz, producer
Call Number: DVD QA614.86.F73 2009
ISBN: 9781593758523
Publication Date: 2009
"Nova takes viewers on a fascinating quest with a group of pioneering mathematicians determined to decipher the rules that govern fractal geometry. Their remarkable findings are deepening our understanding of nature and stimulating a new wave of scientific, medical and artistic innovation, stretching from the ecology of the rainforest to fashion design."--Notes

Kings of Camouflage - Julia Cort
Call Number: DVD QL430.3.S47 2007
ISBN: 9781593757519
Publication Date: 2007
"When it comes to camouflage, chameleons get all the attention. But the often-overlooked cuttlefish is the real master of disguise...These shape-shifting creatures can hypnotize their prey, impersonate the opposite sex and even kill with lightning-fast speed...With stunning underwater footage and in-depth expert interviews, NOVA gets up close and personal with this astonishing brainy bunch."~~Notes

Tosca - Victorien Sardou
Call Number: Video M1500.P83T67 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"Luciano Pavarotti's Cavaradossi in Tosca was his most celebrated role at the Met. It was captured for posterity in Tito Gobbi's famous production in 1978, with Shirley Verrett in the title role and the tenor in his glorious prime." -- Back cover.
Sung in Italian with a bonus segment in rehearsal DVD (127 minutes)

 

Microsoft Office and Computer Graphics

Cover Art
Excel 2013 - Paul McFedries
Call Number: HF5548.4.M523M39 2013
ISBN: 9781118505397
Publication Date: 2013
Clear, step-by-step instructions for mastering more than 160 Excel 2013 tasks

Cover Art
Excel 2013 bible - John Walkenbach
Call Number: HF5548.4.M523W344894 2013
ISBN: 9781118490365
Publication Date: 2013
A comprehensive resource for Excel 2013, this "bible" is for new and veteran users of Excel.

Cover Art
Office 2013: The Missing Manual - Nancy Conner
Call Number: HF5548.4.M525C66 2013
ISBN: 9781449357085
Publication Date: 2013
"This helpful guide gets you started with the programs in Office 2013, and provides lots of power-user tips and tricks when you're ready for more. You'll learn about Office's new templates and themes, touchscreen features, and other advances, including Excel's Quick Analysis tool."

Cover Art
PowerPoint 2013 - William Wood
Call Number: P93.53.M534W66 2013
ISBN: 9781118510421
Publication Date: 2013
Clear, step-by-step instructions for mastering more than 190 PowerPoint 2013 steps.

Cover Art
Microsoft PowerPoint 2013 - Joyce Cox
Call Number: T385.M534C69 2013
ISBN: 9780735669109
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Photoshop CS6: For Windows and Macintosh - Elaine Weinmann
Call Number: TR267.W43 2012
ISBN: 9780321822185
Publication Date: 2012
An easy-to-use "how-to reference guide to Photoshop CS6, using task-based, step-by-step instructions to guide users through the software features."

Cover Art
Photoshop CS6 Bible - Lisa DaNae Dayley
Call Number: TR267.5.A3D39 2012
ISBN: 9781118123881
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Microsoft Word 2013 Bible: The Comprehensive Tutorial Resource - Lisa Bucki
Call Number: Z52.5.M52B83 2013
ISBN: 9781118488126
Publication Date: 2013
A comprehensive resource for Word 2013, this "bible" is for new and veteran Word users.

 

More Technology

Cover Art
Amazing Android Apps for Dummies - Daniel A. Begun
Call Number: QA76.76.A65B44 2011
ISBN: 9780470936290
Publication Date: 2011
The scoop on 180 Android apps for books, entertainment, health, shopping, travel and more.

Cover Art
Don't Make Me Think Revisited: A Common Sense Approach to Web and Mobile Usability - Steve Krug
Call Number: TK5105.888.K78 2014
ISBN: 9780321965516
Publication Date: 2014
Updated with new examples and an added chapter on mobile usability. Many illustrations, practical and informative: the book Web designers and developers go to as a guide.

 

Biography

Cover Art
North Carolina Women: Their Lives and Times - Michele Gillespie
Call Number: CT3262.N67N678 2014
ISBN: 9780820339993
Publication Date: 2014
The first of two volumes on North Carolina women-this volume chronicles the lives and achievements of eighteen women of varied backgrounds and experiences.

Cover Art
Chinua Achebe: A Biography - Ezenwa-Ohaeto
Call Number: PR9387.9.A3Z66 1997
ISBN: 0253333423
Publication Date: 1997
"This is the first biography of Chinua Achebe.(Universally known for his first novel, Things Fall Apart)His novels span the African experience of colonialism, independence and of civilian and military corruption. His short stories in particular reflect his involvement in the Biafran civil war in Nigeria. His poetry, both in English and Igbo, reveals a sensitive talent. His children's stories introduced the young and their parents to the excitement of books. Chinua Achebe had an active and generous role in encouraging other African writers by starting the literary journal Okike, by founding a publishing house in war-torn Nigeria and by introducing, in his role as the Founding Editor of the African Writers Series, new writers to a worldwide audience. Through his teaching in universities in Africa and America he showed the importance of Africa's own literature in the re-establishment of its cultural independence"

 

Contemporary Issues

Cover Art
Power Concedes Nothing: The Unfinished Fight for Social Justice in America - Connie Rice
Call Number: KF373.R483R53 2012
ISBN: 9781416575009
Publication Date: 2012
"An influential civil rights attorney describes the family beliefs and achievements that inspired her career, recounting her dedication to civil rights causes in areas ranging from transportation and education to the death penalty and the LAPD."- Abstract

Cover Art
The ADHD Explosion: Myths, Medication, Money, and Today's Push for Performance - Stephen P. Henshaw
Call Number: RJ506.H9H57 2014
ISBN: 9780199790555
Publication Date: 2014
Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) has become "one of the most controversial and misunderstood medical conditions" of our time. Two PhDs from California describe the origins of ADHD, diagnoisis, treatment and staggering cost to our economy.

 

Finance

Cover Art
Financial Planning DeMystified - Paul J. Lim
Call Number: HG179.L497 2007
ISBN: 0071476717
Publication Date: 2007
The easy-to-follow guide on ways to save money, invest money, avoid debt and maintain good credit.

Cover Art
No time to Wander: The Financial Compass for Young Americans - Paul Nourigat
Call Number: HG179.N6N68 2013
ISBN: 9781936872084
Publication Date: 2013
A practical guide written for young Americans to assist with financial topics.

 

Marketing

Cover Art
The New Rules of Marketing & PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Realeases & Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers Directly - David Meerman Scott
Call Number: HF5415.1265.S393 2013
ISBN: 9781118488768
Publication Date: 2013
"Offers a step-by-step action plan for harnessing the power of modern marketing and PR to communicate with buyers directly, raise visibility, and increase sales, showing how large and small companies, nonprofits, and other organizations can leverage Web-based content to get the right information to the right people at the right time for a fraction of the cost of big-budget campaigns." ~ Publisher's note

 

Spanish Language

Cover Art
Mexican Spanish Phrasebook & Dictionary - Rafael Carmona
Call Number: PC4121.M49 2012
ISBN: 9781742201887
Publication Date: 2012
Not much larger than your iPhone, this handy little book uses icons and phonic guides to help you order the right meal, understand directions, and quickly learn the essential words and phrases of Mexican Spanish.

Cover Art
Spanish Conversation DeMystified - Jenny Petrow
Call Number: PC4121.P58 2010
ISBN: 9780071627078
Publication Date: 2010
From the series to help you understand and master confusing or difficult subjects, the focus is primarily on mastering speaking skills with help from CDs, quizzes and practice.

Cover Art
Spanish Visual Phrase Book & CD - Margaret Parrish
Call Number: PC4121.S69 2009
ISBN: 9780756636852
Publication Date: 2009
An Eyewitness Travel 60-minute audio CD with a two-way dictionary in pocket format with illustrations and detailed menu guide. Includes all the key words and phrases

Cover Art
Spanish Demystified - Jenny Petrow
Call Number: PC4129.E5P58 2011
ISBN: 0071755926
Publication Date: 2011
"A step-by-step guide through the key fundamentals of the Spanish language" with everyday topics and conversational expressions. A 70 minute CD with oral and written practice exercises

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip